PERU Time:
February 27, 2013


ISA Founder Eduardo Arena with current ISA President Fernando Aguerre and the Eduardo Arena Perpetual Trophy

ISA Founder Eduardo Arena with current ISA President Fernando Aguerre and the Eduardo Arena Perpetual Trophy

On a beautiful night in Lima, Peru, Club Waikiki was host of the reintroduction of the Eduardo Arena Team Trophy

After 41 years missing, the original Eduardo Arena Trophy was reintroduced as the “Eduardo Arena Perpetual Trophy” to be awarded to the ISA Masters World Champion Team, starting next April in Montañita, Ecuador.

Club Waikiki, one the longer standing Surf Clubs in the world and a landmark in the Peruvian and Latin-American surf culture, was host to the presentation of the Eduardo Arena Team Trophy.

Club Waikiki gave a warm welcome to the participants of the ISA World StandUp Paddle and Paddleboard Championship from around the world, club members, media and ISA leaders.

After an introduction by Club Waikiki President Jose Osterling, the legendary Eduardo Arena, founder and first President of the ISA, told the history of this event.

“We meet here because Fernando has asked me to deliver to the ISA the original trophy that I donated to the ISA in 1964. After almost 50 years, we found the original jewelers that made the trophy, and even the original artist that actually made the original. With photos and his recollections, they were able to make an identical new trophy”.

Arena then presented the trophy to ISA President, who then addressed the guests.

“We have made a lot of work to get this trophy back,” noted President Aguerre.  “Two years ago we decided to ask Eduardo if he was interested in donating a replica of the original trophy. We love Peru, and this trophy means a lot to the history of our sport. We are happy to welcome back the trophy to the ISA World Championships, and there is no more appropriate place to do it, than in Peru, where the original trophy was first awarded 48 years ago. From this year on, it will be awarded to the ISA Masters World Team Champion, and the name of the winner will be engraved below all the original Champions”.

Aguerre added, “Thanks to all of you who made this possible, and to all of you from around the world, thank you for coming to Peru and thank you for taking back home the warmth of the Peruvian surfing culture”.

In the eve of its 50 anniversary (the ISA was originally founded in 1964), the ISA is happy to welcome back surfing’s original World Champion trophy.

About the International Surfing Association
The International Surfing Association (ISA) is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. It was originally founded as the International Surfing Federation in 1964 and has been running the Open Division World Championship since 1964, the World Junior Surfing Championship since 1980, the World Masters Surfing Championship since 2007, the World Bodyboard Championship since 2011, the Hainan Wanning Riyue Bay International Surfing Festival in China, and the World Standup Paddle (SUP) and Paddleboard Championship beginning in 2012. The ISA also sanctions the World Kneeboard Titles and the World Tandem Surfing Championship, and will launch the World Longboard Championship in 2013. ISA membership includes the surfing National Governing Bodies of 73 countries on five continents. Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California. It is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (Argentina), first elected President in 1994 in Rio de Janeiro and re-elected seven times since. The ISA’s four Vice-Presidents are Alan Atkins (AUS), Karín Sierralta (PER), Debbie Beacham (USA) and Layne Beachley (AUS).

More on